Register   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In
News & Press: Colorado Technology Industry

Nominations open for the Ernst & Young Entrepreneur Of The Year® 2011 Award

Friday, January 21, 2011   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Courtney Story
Share |
Ernst & Young LLP is calling for nominations for the Ernst & Young Entrepreneur Of The Year® 2011 Awards, recognized as one of the most prestigious business award programs in the country. The deadline for applications is March 18, 2011, with the Mountain Desert awards ceremony scheduled for Thursday, June 16, 2011 at the Seawell Ballroom in the Denver Center for the Performing Arts.

The Ernst & Young Entrepreneur Of The Year® Awards program will celebrate its 25th anniversary this year. Over the past quarter-century, the program has honored the inspirational leadership of entrepreneurs such as Jeff Bezos of, Michael Dell of Dell, Herb Kelleher of Southwest Airlines, Fred Smith of FedEx, Larry Page and Sergey Brin of Google, Richard Schulze of Best Buy, Wayne Huizenga of Huizenga Holdings (Blockbuster Video, Waste Management, Inc., and AutoNation), and many more.

"We’ve been extraordinarily proud to honor men and women who have had the inspiration to create innovative, market-leading companies that have truly changed the world over the 25-year history of our Entrepreneur Of The Year program,” said Bryan Pearce, Americas Director of the Ernst & Young Entrepreneur Of The Year® program. "We believe entrepreneurs are the lifeblood and foundation of our economy. It’s very exciting to think about the impact that entrepreneurs and transformational CEOs will have on the way we live and work over the next 25 years as well.”

Award winners are selected by a panel of independent judges, including previous winners of the award, leading CEOs and private capital investors and other regional business leaders.

The Ernst & Young Entrepreneur Of The Year® Awards in the Mountain Desert region

The Mountain Desert region (formerly known as the Rocky Mountain region), now includes Colorado, Arizona and New Mexico. Select past regional award winners have included Yvon Cariou, Dynamic Materials Corporation; Roy Dimoff, ViaWest; Todd Davis, LifeLock; Kevin Reddy, Noodles & Company; Dan Caruso, Zayo Group, Robert Worsley, SkyMall; Craig Clark, Forest Oil; and Larissa Herda, tw telecom.

"This program honors the outstanding entrepreneurs in our area,” said Jim Wilson, Ernst & Young Entrepreneur Of The Year® Program Director for the Mountain Desert region. "These entrepreneurs make our community a better place by providing jobs, developing new products and services, and encouraging economic development. They deserve our support and recognition.”

The Entrepreneur Of The Year® program honors entrepreneurs regionally in June, leading up to the national awards in November. The overall national US winner then moves on to compete for the World Entrepreneur Of The Year title in Monaco in June 2012. Entrepreneurs are nominated and evaluated by an independent panel of judges in each region, including local business and community leaders.

Nationally, approximately 250 entrepreneurs from across the nation were selected as Ernst & Young Entrepreneur Of The Year® 2010 award winners from more than 1,500 nominations. Past award winners have included Howard Schultz of Starbucks Coffee Company, Arthur M. Blank of AMB Group, LLC (Home Depot, Atlanta Falcons), Pierre Omidyar of eBay, Inc., Ruth Fertel of Ruth's Chris, Maxine Clark of Build-a-Bear, Tom Adams of Rosetta Stone, Matt Szulik of Red Hat, and last year’s national winner, Howard Lutnick of BGC Partners and Cantor Fitzgerald.

All regional honorees are invited to the national Entrepreneur Of The Year® gala, hosted by Jay Leno, on November 12, 2011 in Palm Springs, California. The gala is the culminating event of the Ernst & Young Strategic Growth Forum®, the nation’s most prestigious gathering of high-growth, market-leading companies. For more information on the Ernst & Young Strategic Growth Forum, please visit

Awards Criteria
Awards are given to entrepreneurs who have demonstrated excellence and extraordinary success in such areas as innovation, financial performance, and personal commitment to their businesses and communities. Self-nominations are encouraged, and there is no fee. Application forms must be received by March 18, 2011.

Entrepreneurs eligible for consideration include not only company founders, but also leaders of multi-generation family businesses and transformational public and private company CEOs. Additionally, the nominee's company must be at least three years old.

Founded and produced by Ernst & Young LLP, the Entrepreneur Of The Year® Awards are nationally sponsored by the Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation.

In the Mountain Desert region, local sponsors include Faegre & Benson, Clifton Gunderson LLP, The Denver Business Journal and JohnstonWells Public Relations.

Contact Information
For more information and nomination forms contact: Courtney Story, Program Manager, Ernst & Young Entrepreneur Of The Year® Mountain Desert Awards, at 720-931-4411 or Information is also available at

About Ernst & Young’s Entrepreneur Of The Year®
Ernst & Young’s Entrepreneur Of The Year® is the world’s most prestigious business award for entrepreneurs. The award makes a difference through the unique way it encourages entrepreneurial activity among those with potential and recognizes the contribution of people who inspire others with their vision, leadership and achievement. As the first and only truly global award of its kind, Ernst & Young Entrepreneur Of The Year® celebrates those who are building and leading successful, growing and dynamic businesses, recognizing them through regional, national and global awards programs in more than 135 cities in 50 countries.

More information >>

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal