Register   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In
News & Press: Colorado Technology Industry

CSIA Announces the Judges for the 2010 Apex Awards

Thursday, July 1, 2010   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Nikki Mill
Share |
DENVER – July 1, 2010 – CSIA, Colorado’s Technology Association, today announced the independent judging panels for the 10th annual Apex Awards.  Winners and finalists will be announced live on July 15, 2010, at the evening event held at The Robert and Judi Newman Center for the Performing Arts.

"Judges are announced today because the process is now complete, and we wanted the community to know who our honored judges were for this year,” said Su Hawk, President, CSIA. 

The independent judging panel for company awards were Matthew Cavarra, Attorney, Holland and Hart; Alison Dunnebecke, Partner, Hein & Associates; James Gaulke, former CIO, Nordstrom; King Nelson, King Nelson Associates, and Michael Thomsic, Partner, St. Charles Capital.  Awards judged by this panel were Titan of Technology, Technology Company of the Year, Technology Product of the Year, Technology Services of the Year, and Rookie of the Year. 

Judges received a packet containing the submitted nominations and a score sheet where they provided a numerical value ranking for each segment of the company nomination.  Segments or areas being judged for the company nomination included: Current Business Activity; Vision, Innovation and Differentiation; Corporate Responsibility; Product and/or Service Offering; Financials; and References.  Judges then convened to discuss and debate the highest scoring companies and determined the finalists and winners. 

The inaugural IT Project of the Year Award was judged by the same panel as the companies but judged and scored in the following areas:  Strategic Alignment of Project, Goals and Success of Project, Team work and Collaboration, and Lessons Learned. 

The independent judging panel for three of the five individual awards were Carl Fitch, CEO, Statera, and Technology Executive of the Year 2005; David Leonard, Critical Structure and former CTO, Corporate Express and Infocrossing; Catharine Merigold, Partner, Vista Ventures; and Steven Newell, Director of Science and Technology, Sandburg Elementary, and 2009 Top Tech Teacher.   Awards judged by this panel were Technology Executive of the Year, Technology Entrepreneur of the Year and Top Tech Teacher.

As with the company judging panel, each member of the individual judging panel received a packet containing the submitted nominations and a score sheet to provide a numerical value to the following areas judged:  Perseverance, Independence and Risk; Leadership Style and Decision Making; Background and Significant Achievements; and Integrity and Characteristics.  The Top Tech Teacher was also judged based on his/her Innovation in the Classroom and his/her Inspiration and Influence. 

The Bob Newman Lifetime Achievement Award was judged by past recipients of the award including: Bob Newman, 2001; Donald J. McCubbery, 2001; Bob Ogdon, 2005; Scott Burt, 2006;  Barbara Bauer, 2007; Brad Feld, 2008; and Jon Nordmark, 2009.  Criteria for this award included:  ultimate contribution to the technology industry over the lifetime of the individual; strength of involvement for the development, research or application of technology in Colorado; his/her outstanding achievements and commitments to furthering innovative technology in our community and the state; and his/her contributions to the initiatives of CSIA. 

The CSIA Champion of the Year Award was judged by past recipients and staff members.  Nominee volunteers of this award were judged on their breadth of involvement in CSIA, impact of their contribution, influence among other volunteers, and their willingness and ability to help CSIA further its mission to advance the technology industry in Colorado. 

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal