Register   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In
News & Press: Colorado Technology Industry

And the Winners of the Apex Awards Are...

Thursday, June 11, 2009   (0 Comments)
Share |

2009 Apex Award Winners Are…

Congratulations to the 2009 Apex Award Winners!  These exceptional companies and individuals demonstrate the success, innovation, leadership, and determination that is the core of Colorado’s technology industry.  Colorado is home to more than 5,050 software companies; many people don’t realize how large and successful this industry is in Colorado.  So, our Apex Awards is an evening of recognizing the success stories because there are many in Colorado that need to be honored. 

The 2009 APEX Corporate Winners are:

Titan of Technology – IHS.  IHS was founded in 1959 and is a leading global source of critical information and insight for customers in a broad range of industries. IHS has 3,500 professionals in 22 countries, speaks 42 languages, has a market cap of $3.8 billion, and revenues of more than $844 million. Their customers include 35% of the United States Fortune 1000 and 60% of the Global Fortune 500. Since their IPO in 2005 this Titan of Technology has acquired many companies, 20 of which have been in just over 24 months, expanded operations globally, and all the while kept their world wide headquarters in Colorado. Their leadership team, highlighted by John Oechsle, has created a vision of excellence for their company, and also our entire state. 

Outstanding Tech Company of the Year – Global Technology Recourses, Inc.  (GTRI). GTRI was founded in 1998 and quickly became one of the most respected high-end solution providers and technology consulting firms in the United States. They are a strategic partner to their commercial, federal, non-profit, and educational clients nationwide, delivering end-to-end solutions that address the industry’s most challenging IT infrastructure requirements. GTRI specializes in IT strategy and planning, unified communications (VoIP),  IPv6, wireless, managed services, enterprise infrastructure, and security. The other finalists were MapQuest, Ready Talk and SofTek Solutions, Inc.

Most Innovative Technology Product – LogRhythm.  LogRhythm was chosen because they provide customers with unprecedented visibility into critical "needle in a haystack” information.  This company changed the market with its holistic approach to log and security event management.  The other finalists were Business Controls, Inc. and Catalyst Repository Systems, Inc.

Distinguished Professional Services – Applied Trust Engineering.  Applied Trust Engineering has an innovative approach to helping companies improve the ecology of their IT operations. This company has enjoyed year-over-year growth and exceeded its revenue goals since its inception. The other finalists were Illumen and Statera.

CleanTech Innovation – Sun Microsystems.  Sun Microsystems estimated a $1 million dollar savings in electricity costs and 11,000 metric tons of CO2 per year with its newest energy efficient project. With its new green data center in Broomfield and other initiatives in Colorado, Sun’s leadership in our state has been enormous, especially in the design of eco responsible products that deliver high-performance, sustainable computing. Not only will this company reduce its carbon footprint by 6% in the US, but it also invests nearly $2 billion annually in research and development.

Rookie of the Year – Yieldex, Inc.  Yieldex provides tools that are helping publishers drive more revenue. The management team has a proven track record of success that includes multiple successful start-ups. Additionally, this company has signed well known customers like Martha Stewart Living and Omnimedia.  The other finalists were Pixorial, Inc. and Top School, Inc.

The 2009 APEX Individual Winners are:

Bob Newman Lifetime Achievement – Jon Nordmark, Co-Founder eBags, and Co-Founder Wambo.  In the late 90s, Jon created Startup BaseCamp to convene entrepreneurs, VCs and professionals to increase tech entrepreneurism in our state.  He has worked with NetLeaders to attract national entrepreneurs to our state, and has represented Colorado’s tech leaders on hundreds of panels, conferences, as well as late-night or early-morning meetings to share his passion and business acumen.  And last year, he also chaired the most successful DEMOgala ever, attracting more than 100 national speakers, 1100 attendees, and injecting energy into an economy at the precisely right time for innovative optimism.

Chief Tech Executive of the Year – Michael Zeisser, EVP of Liberty Media.  Michael is an international force in e-commerce. Through his involvement, not only has QVC exceeded $7 Billion, but because of this executive’s involvement in Red Envelope, ProFlowers, BuySeasons and many more, these companies turned from smart to also very profitable. Michael is well-known in the technology industry but not one who seeks praise and recognition; instead he simply grows companies to the highest level.

Top Tech Entrepreneur of the Year – John Tredennick, CEO of Catalyst Repository Systems.  John identified a growing problem in his industry and used technology to solve the issue for his firm.  He then created a company where the products are used by many of the largest organizations in the world, including 5 of the world’s 10 largest companies, 4 of the nation’s 10 largest insurers and 60 of the nation’s 100 largest law firms.

Get IT Done – Joylee Kohler, Director Performance Solutions, Avaya.  Joylee has been quoted in Forbes Magazine, published in the AT&T Technical Journal and has received numerous company awards. Additionally, she has 20 patents with 15 pending.  The other finalists were Sherisse Hawkins, Time Warner Cable, and Diane Sharrock, CH2M Hill. 

Top Tech Teacher – Steven Newell, Director of Science and Technology, Sandburg Elementary.  Steven helped to transform his elementary school from a trailing technology user to an early adopter and leader in meaningful technology integration. He spearheaded numerous projects such as: a pervasive wireless network, a digital video and music production lab, robotics clubs for all 5th graders featuring design, construction, and programming following both waterfall SDLC and agile methods; and a Mars Rover role play project for 4th grade classes.  The other finalists were Kevin Byers, Adams County School District, Chris Moore & Nicolette Vander Velde, East Elementary, and Lindsay Craig, Open World Learning

CSIA Champion of the Year – UB Ciminieri, Director of Public Relations, Fowler Software Design; Vince Collins, Sr. Account Manager, ProtoTest; Amber Gullett, Owner, 6 Degrees of Technology; Ida Lau, Partner, VeriPoint These four individuals have had great impact on CSIA, invested many hours in committees and projects, and inspired other volunteers and the community to get involved with CSIA and the technology community.  More than 20 highly active volunteers were nominated for this coveted award. 

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal